Jaguar cars -- fun to drive, own? Newbie here

I have not purchased a Jag yet, but I am considering it. I have always wondered what the mystique was surrounding the car. I am a Cadillac fan and never thought I would even consider an older Jaguar (late 80’s to mid 90’s XJS). Are Jags great cars to own overall? If you have had one, please share your experience. I’d like a car that combines luxury and performance … and that comes as a convertible if possible. Thanks!

Yeah, they are beautiful, sexy cars.
BUT, you’ll spend a fortune to keep it running.

You posted this question a couple of days ago.

Didn’t you like the responses you received ?

The Jag-you-are has a “pedigree”. For the upper-crust chap and all that sort of rot…

I had a cousin who had a mid '70s XJ-12. It was a dreamy ride, but it had a steady string of problems cropping up.

True. I appreciate all the responses, but I guess I am hoping to read that someone is happy to have purchased a Jag. (-:

Why a mid 80s to 90’s. Will this be a daily driver? Ever look into a more classic one from the 60’s? More pedigree and aftermarket support I would think. Probably even easier to find a nice restoration out there.

Test drive one and you’ll understand why people like them.
Own one and you’ll understand why shops like them.

Sexy, but definitely not for the budget or reliability minded.

My girl loves them.  I think they are OK.  They drive nice handle well, They just are a little over the top for me.  I like my VW diesel Bug.

Get one from 2004 and up. They became a bit more reliable then.

Could have something do do with the FORD ownership then?

More of Detroit than London in them then.

Nice to look at, nice to drive. But I wouldn’t own one.