Jackhammer like noise under hood

I was driving today at maybe 55mph on the highway my car has 82,000 miles and I started to hear a loud jackhammer like noise come from under my hood I pulled over and popped my hood I didn’t really see anything mind you I’m no mechanic but I was able to make it home but when I accelarated it got louder any ideas what could be causing this problem?

First step is to check the engine oil. Knowing the type of car and engine might help in formulating some guesses from a distance.

Year, make, model?

And what engine?

Tester

You should not drive your car until it has been looked at. Have you checked your oil and other fluid levels? Did any warning lights come on? This can be something as bad as a rod bearing failing or as simple as a chunk out of a drive belt. Your best option is to have it towed to a shop and inspected, driving it may only make the problem worse.

IMOO sounds like spun a rod bearing.
I believe when this happens it stretches the connecting rod and it must be replaced.

A spun bearing was the first thing that came to my mind too.
'29 Hupmobiles will do that sometimes…

Bad rod bearing:

It is a 2006 Ford Mustang 4.0l v6 and I did an oil change around 80k and its currently at 82.4k miles and the oil change was about 2 months ago… My friend who works at a mechanic shop came by and said it sounded like it was coming from the back of my engine… From what he said its a bad knock in the motor and the motor is done

I’ve heard that dreaded noise a few times in my life. The last time was in my daughter’s '93 S-10 pickup with the 2.8 V-6. She had loaned it to a friend over a weekend who tried to get it out of a ditch. Make sure a good independent mechanic checks out your Mustang to make sure the engine is toast. A lot of things can make a bad knock in or on an engine.