It seems many don't know what is involved with towing

Source USA Today:front page,Today. I had to get some more exposure to this story. An average of more than one person a day dies because a poorly connected trailer breaks away from the unit towing it.

Lets start stressing towing safety even more on CarTalk, this statistic is just horrible.

How sadly true.
Not covered in driver’s ed
yet NOT covered when purchasing the trailer !

!

My dad had the foresight to teach us teen learners the trailer because we had a camper our family used very often.
Once a neighbor rented one for a weekend, and came straight to dad to bone up on towing.

I’ll be doing the 500 mile boat tow this weekend. I was self taught as probably 99% of the other people that tow trailers are. Maybe another license classification is needed. I currently have car, motorcycle, truck license but why not a trailer license also? Not to demean the thought but that is less than 1% of annual traffic deaths, but it is a start.

I agree that towing and trailer inspection should be covered in driver’s ed. There should also be laws in every state requiring annual safety inspections of trailers. I have seen some scary looking trailers in my area, some of them dogtracking down the highway behind a pickup truck, the driver seemingly unaware of what is going on. Many states require this for cars (all should), so why not trailers? Most, if not all, of these failures are probably the result of worn or damaged trailers or ignorance on the driver’s part on how to hook it up. I taught myself how to deal with a trailer when I was a teenager, which is not the best way to do this, although I have never had a problem.

Can you provide a link to the story? I couldn’t find it on the USA Today web site.

Stepping on oldschools toes for you.
http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/2010-07-05-trailer-laws_N.htm

also a link for
http://dangeroustrailers.org/

forgive me bud.