Is my working area safe?

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to wrenching and I’m looking for feedback on whether my outdoor setup seems safe.

I have a gravel driveway area in my backyard where I want to jack my car up and go underneath safely (i.e. pull a transmission, diff, etc).

In my opinion, I’d say this patch of driveway is ‘very flat’, however it’s still not a perfectly poured concrete garage floor, and is also covered in small gravel.

I jacked up my car and gave it the ‘shake test’. I shook it hard as hell. As hard as I could without getting a running start. And everything actually felt really solid. But, I’ll admit I noticed very minor flex in things (perhaps because all of it is sitting on wood, on gravel, and on a not-absolutely-perfectly flat patch). Maybe this is normal even on perfect concrete?

At a maximum, the slope in this area doesn’t seem to be more than ~2% over any stretch.

I’m using 4x ‘3 ton’ HF steel jack stands to support a 1.5 ton overall car. The jack stands are placed on 12" x 12" x 3/4" pressure treated plywood, on the gravel.

Below is a picture of the driveway area in question, with the car up on the jack stands.

Thoughts on whether this seems safe? My backup plan was to build wooden wheel cribs for each tire. I assume the larger surface area and more solid construction would be safer, hopefully in spite of the imperfect ground. Or maybe there’s another recommendation that would work? (Perhaps some style of ramps?)

Thanks!

to me it looks to be safe even to put a mattress and sleep under there :slight_smile:

I’m not sure “wheel cribs” will help a lot, as likely you would need to pull tires at some point

That look’s like the same s my driveway the only thing I can add is to put a piece of canvas down before taking anything apart to catch whatever you will drop otherwise it will get lost & you will play heck trying to find it.