Question about jack stands

So in the next week or two, I have to get several projects done with my car that I have never done myself before. First, I am going to change the oil for the first time because the car has so many issues going on that I can no longer take it to a place even for an oil change. So I went to Walmart yesterday and bought two 2-ton jack stands for about $9 each - which you can see if you go to a Walmart with an auto section. I am a little uncomfortable with the thought of relying on these things to keep me from being crushed under the car, and I also have another problem. The only way I have to raise the car is the tire-changing scissors jack that fits in the trunk. I am not buying and have no way to transport or store a floor jack. The cut-out in the body of the car (where the scissors jack goes) is not large enough for both the jack and the jack stand to be at the same time - not to mention there isn’t enough room underneath that section of the car for both of them. So how can I raise the car onto the jack stands? Since I have to be under the engine area and between the two front wheels, I can’t have anything in that area - it has to be supported from the sides.

You bought $9.00 jack stands and you want to get under a car. Are you just trying to kill yourself? Second why are you even wasting your time and money on this old worn out vehicle anyway.

I use ramps for oil changes and the like. Much safer and mistake-resistant if they are on a solid flat surface. Jack stands only when needed for jobs where wheel(s) have to be removed…

2 Likes

Ordinarily Torin isn’t a terrible brand - at least, for occasional use - but the secret of Walmart is that they will order items from well-known manufacturers, but to their own specs. For instance, the Levis jeans you get there are of lesser quality than the ones you get elsewhere. People think they’re getting a bargain, but really they’re just paying less money because the product has lower quality.