Is my student trying to pull the wool over my eyes?

I am a university professor. This morning I got an email from a student who claimed that they could not make the midterm this morning because their car “just shut down” on the highway on the way to the exam. When I asked for documentation (e.g., a tow trick receipt), they claimed that they could not produce any documentation because they had a friend come jump start the car for “alternator/battery problems.” Is this plausible? Whenever my battery has died it has resulted in me being unable to start the car, not shutting down while driving. Is there any scenario in which jump-starting a car would fix a problem that caused your car to suddenly shut down on the highway?

If the battery is drained enough, the engine will stall. This is a bigger problem in the newer cars.

Absolutely plausible. The last battery I had that died on me was in the middle of the night. The engine died about the time the headlight beams turned orange.

Thanks. But would jump starting help in that situation?

It’s possible. Physics-wise I mean. For example if the alternator was on the fritz. That could cause the battery to drain to a point where the car would stop running mid-freeway excursion. A jump start could give the drained battery enough juice to drive a few more miles. The alternator (or wiring, etc) would have to be fixed though, otherwise it would happen again the next day.

I think I told this story here before, but its funny enough to repeat. One time I was driving down the freeway in rush hour traffic and I saw a friend of mine pulled over on the side of the road monkeying with his engine. I stopped to help. I noticed he had his business suit on, as expected, but I was surprised besides his business clothes, he had mechanic’s cover-alls pulled over them.