Is it the battery?

Hi folks, novice here with quick question: I sat in my relatively new (2009) car with the accessories on (fan only) for 20 minutes, now it is clicking and won’t turn over. Do i just need a jump? will my battery recover after running? thank you!

Yes it will recover, somewhat. You might find yourself wanting a new battery if you live in the north once cold weather sets in. A 4 year old battery can’t hold as much charge as a brand new one, especially if you’ve done this (run the accessories for a while) before. It recovers, just not to the “new” state. Once jumped, run the car 20-30 minutes of highway driving or put it on a charger to bring the battery up to a full charge.

Thank you! This is literally the first time i have ever left the car accessories running for more than 3 minutes! now i know why. I’m not in the cold, so hopefully it will last this winter then i can upgrade the whole car before next winter.

I cannot see how running accessories for 20 minutes will kill a good battery…Most car batteries are rated between 40 and 60 amp hours. I left my headlights on for 2 hours on my 89 Mustang GT drawing about 15 amps and she started right up. My lawn tractor battery which is half the size of a car battery is rated at 30 AH stamped on the battery. You need to have your battery checked, once a battery reaches 3 to 5 years old it loses its capacity due to old age. There is one poster on here that swears car batteries are only 30 amp hours…not true…unless your have a lawn tractor battery in your car. Thats why I change out my battery every 4 years unless if fails before that time…Just don’t feel like push starting it by myself at 63 years old after having by-pass surgery, although I am feeling great now.

@smellymel

That was your battery telling you it’s going to be checking out soon

I realize your car is a 2009 model year, but it may have been produced in late 2008, which would make the battery 5 years old.