Car Batteries in the Apocalypse

Hi to all you knowledgeable folks. I’m a writer and working on book two of my zombie apocalypse series.
I know that the longer a car sits, the less likely it will be to start, due to the battery draining. I’ve also read that it very likely would be impossible to jump start a dead battery after a certain amount of time.

I’d love to pick (not eat!) your expert brains about the length of time you feel it would take for a battery to drain completely. Would some vehicles start on their own (or take a charge) after, say, five months? Would an older car/truck with less electrical systems to maintain (like radio, clock, etc.) be more likely to start without a jump?

Any other information you feel would be pertinent would also be appreciated. I know it’s an odd question, but I need some good advice–I hate to get my facts wrong. Thank you!

Just personal experience here but I left a vehicle on a storage lot for 18 months out in the elements in Washington state. The original plan was for only 2 weeks but we stayed a lot longer in Alaska due to family reasons. The vehicle started right up when we got back and ran just like it had 18 months prior. I’m sure that some batteries would last for years if they were disconnected in the vehicle.

I think you can pretty much pick any time limit you want up to a year or two. I’ve had them go dead after four months disconnected and still ok after 6 month connected. Never let one sit longer than that though and still usable.

Thanks, Missileman. Wow, eighteen months? That’s good to know. My father’s car battery died in a few months while sitting in the driveway. It took a jump, though. Maybe it has something to do with the age of the battery as well?

I know disconnected batteries will last, but a lot of these fictional abandoned cars belong to people who are now zombies, so they definitely didn’t take the time to do that. :wink:

Thank you, Bing!