Is it the battery? No... Is it the alternator? No... Then what the heck is it?!

I’m a novice at best, so pardon the lack of technical jargon and what have you. The story is long, but if you’re looking for a head scratcher I probably got it.

I’ve got a 1998 Pontiac Bonneville SE with close to 200,000 miles on it (bought it at 130K). 6 Cylinder 3.8 Liter. No major problems with it before except a dead fuel pump, and my engine “vapor locked” once. Both of these problems happened 3+ years ago.

I recently had an issue with my car in that it seemed it started hard (it would turn over more than it usually did and it would shake when the car started). I don’t know how long this went on and I kind of just took it to mean that the car was getting old as I didn’t see any other characteristics manifest themselves. However, about 3 weeks ago my car wouldn’t start. I got a jump and upon further driving noticed that my batter gauge would fluctuate wildly. It’d read 13 or 14 volts after I started it up (and after the jump it read about this) yet when I was driving it, it would dip to as low as 5 or so.

I called my father and he figured the battery was the problem. We took out the old battery, which did seem to be old and somewhat corroded, replaced it and GREAT! It seemed to start up smoother, the gauge didn’t flux at all and everything seemed hunky dory.

Side note: The battery that’s in the car now is a “blemish” (meaning aesthetic imperfections only). I was told that THIS IS NOT A REFURB (but I am now taking that with a grain of salt). I fear mentioning this as I don’t want to insert bias into my question, but it should be known. I’ve known people with these batteries and they’ve not had problems.