Is Bottled Oil Better?

This weekend on Car Talk, we heard from Avital, presently of San Francisco. (You can hear the call right here.)

Her ex-boyfriend, a mechanic, insists she should demand bottled motor oil whenever she goes in for an oil change. His logic? The oil separates as it sits.

Could he know something that the rest of us don't?

Tom and Ray thought his premise was boooo-gus. Motor oil's job is to hold debris in suspension, after all. And additives are chemically bonded to the oil, right?

But, then again, who knows?

So, we're posting the question right here. Have you ever seen motor oil separate? Do you think the additives drop out? Tell us what you think.

I work in the oil import business. You know, 850,000 to 1,000,000 barrel crude oil tankers that haul crude oil around the world in 100,000 barrel tanks in their holds. I have a job with a survey company testing the crude oil before the crude is unloaded to insure that the water in the “blended” mix has not separated during transit.

Crude oil has a percentage of allowable suspended water in the “blend”. However, once the water separates it has to either be “re blended” or drained off, a very significant added expense to the crude hauler because the crude hauler is contractually obligated to deliver a specific “blend” of crude oil, not just a load of crude oil to a specific terminal. Crude oil tankers actually “blend” the crude oil during transit to prevent separation of the crude and the suspended water. The crude oil is blended between tanks to insure a homogeneous “blend”.

Another division of the company I work for tests bulk tanks (you know, the big white tanks all over the place, like all the tanks in Chelsea and South Boston that you see from I-95 as you speed past them)to insure that the oil has not separated. Still another division tests oil in bulk underground storage (at “quickie lube” shops) all over the country to insure that the oil has not separated.