Is a 1974 superbeetle a gross polluter?

I’ve been driving a 1974 superbeetle since 1977. Last year it was leaking oil and I had the engine rebuilt. I have the oil changed and valves adjusted every 3000 miles.

The body also is in excellent shape, despite our (the car and I) having lived in Massachusetts and in Minnesota. I’ve sunk a fair amount of money keeping it up and I think it could easily last me many more years.

I worry, though, that it might be a “gross polluter” and that in not having it scrapped I’m a negligent citizen. Given the history above (i.e., assuming emissions within guidelines for this make & model & year), is my worry well founded?

Yes indeed, your no catalytic converter Beetle produces 500 times more pollution than a new car, maybe a 1000 times more…But so what?? If you scrap your car, do you think it will make even the tiniest difference in air quality?? That big diesel truck sitting next to you at the stop-light pollutes even more than you do… Drive on…

Oh my yes it is a gross polluter. Yet, there are so few of them on the road in the grand scheme of things you didn’t create the global warming problem all by yourself. All cars from that era are gross polluters by modern standards so all the old classic cars enjoyed by car enthusiasts are polluting right along with you.

To do your part you need to keep it tuned up and try to keep oil leaks to a minimum. In these regards you are acting very responsibly. Since you are likely only driving a few miles per year, just keep the car maintained and drive on.

At the age of your VW pay some attention to the rubber fuel and brake lines. You don’t want to have gas leaking somewhere. Rotted brake lines could be a safety issue. Have someone give these items a good inspection and replace them before leaks occur.