International Road Trip San Francisco, California to Patagonia, Argentina. What car should I buy?!

Hello Cartalkers! I desperately need your advice.

I’m taking a roadtrip with my girlfriend in the spring of 2012 that will start in San Francisco California, go down the western coast of the Americas, all the way down to the southern most tip of South America, the Patagonia, and up the eastern side, and probably end in San Diego, Ca.

What car should I buy/rent? Please consider my small budget as I am a college student. Any tips? Also, both of us plan on sleeping in the car or in a tent next to the car for the majority of the trip.

TL;DNR: very long road trip spanning most of the western hemisphere. Sleeping in car. What car to take? Extra tips?

Things to consider:

Budget

Sturdiness, ease of maintenance, cheap parts

Sleeping arrangement

Cars I’m considering, so far:

VW BUS

Ford Econoline

motorcycle (death wish?)

The only vehicle that I would recommend would be a Toyota 4Runner.
In addition to being able to withstand the punishment of bad roads in third-world countries, it is well-known enough in South America for you to be able to find parts in the event of a breakdown. With the second seat folded down, there should be room to sleep in the rear.

The vans that you mentioned are far too old to even be considered.

4runner is a good choice. What year would you recommend?

Yeah, the cars I like are on the older side, but realistically speaking something newish would be better.

What about renting or leasing?

Buy, Lease, or rent?

I met one of the guys here in Denver who did this trip:

http://www.theworldbyroad.com/

You may want to look at their site. Toyota trucks can be repaired anywhere in the world.

Take this scenic road if you have time:

http://www.ssqq.com/archive/vinlin27b.htm

Thanks for the great links!
I wonder if I can get sponsored somehow…