International Road Trip San Francisco, California to Patagonia, Argentina. What car should I buy?!

Hello Cartalkers! I desperately need your advice.

I’m taking a roadtrip with my girlfriend in the spring of 2012 that will start in San Francisco California, go down the western coast of the Americas, all the way down to the southern most tip of South America, the Patagonia, and up the eastern side, and probably end in San Diego, Ca.

What car should I buy/rent? Please consider my small budget as I am a college student. Any tips? Also, both of us plan on sleeping in the car or in a tent next to the car for the majority of the trip.

TL;DNR: very long road trip spanning most of the western hemisphere. Sleeping in car. What car to take? Extra tips?

Things to consider:

Budget

Sturdiness, ease of maintenance, cheap parts

Sleeping arrangement

Cars I’m considering, so far:

VW bus

Ford Econoline

motorcycle (death wish?)

My vote would be for a Toyota pickup truck with a cap or maybe a Toyota 4Runner.

That’s a good suggestion above. Any small pickup with a cap, new or used, should serve you well. Second choice would be a minivan with removable rear seats. Good luck.

Ford Econoline.

You won’t be able to rent anything.

I have known people to do it in older SUV’s like Ford Explorer fine. I think you may have more luck with an older Toyota 4runner in terms of familiarity to mechanics down there. They also are incredibly well suited to the purpose.

Make sure it is thoroughly looked over before leaving. The roads can be very hard on vehicles down there in my experience.

Ford Econoline for sure. You got two seats up front (perfect for driving and watching the view) And you got the whole back to design! You can put a mattress a small tv, anything you want and sleep in the comfort of your van. The E series is extremely reliable and a dependable ride. The A/C is great for those hot south american days.