Instrument panel lights

I have a slightly embarassing question about my 99 Nissan Altima. I have this car for 10+ years now and several lights on my instrument panel, as well as the fan/ac panel, went off.

I’m pretty sure I just need to replace the light bulbs. It looks like it’s not so easy, though, since it requires disassembling some or all of the dashboard.

My questions are:

-Does anyone know if I indeed do need to disassemble the dashboard?

-Is it possible to get to the light bulbs (at least in the main instrument panel) by disassembling not all, but only some limited section of the dashboard. I know I’m not gonna do the whole thing because of enormous time/efforts it takes and because it requires messing with the airbags.

I would appreciate your reply, even if you drive other makes, but, of course, that generation Nissan owners are most welcome. Thanks.

Every Do-It-Yourselfer Needs A Service Manual Or Two.

Since you are willing to attempt repairs and maintenance of this sort then you should purchase a Repair/Service Manual specifically written for your vehicle.

Auto parts stores sell them and can order them. See if you can look through one and make sure it covers what it is you’re trying to do.

Also, many libraries carry car repair reference books. Manuals often “pay for themselves” the first time they are used and then you’ve got it when you need it.

With every “new” (previously owned) car I purchase, I buy the “factory” manuals at the same time, often spending $125 (plus S & H) per set. They save me hundreds in repair costs during my ownership of the vehicle. They don’t “cost”, they “pay”.

CSA

Thanks. I did look at the Chilton’s or Hayes manual. They show how to disassemble the whole dashboard, which is something I’d like to avoid. They do NOT show where the light bulbs are located and whether there’s an easier way to get to them.