Installed IACV, still dies while idling

My car has been having idling issues for about a year now. While idling the RPMs oscillate between 1 krpm and almost 0, with a frequency of about one oscillation per second. That got worse over time, and it started dying while idling too. I ignored the problem because it wasn’t that bad, until a few weeks ago it died about 7 times on a 2 mile trip. (I developed a technique of using my right foot to press the gas and the brake simultaneously so I could come to a stop while keeping the engine going. But that only gets you so far.) I took it to a garage, they said I probably need a new IACV. Instead of having them do it, I just bought one and put it in myself. I’m not an experienced mechanic, but this seemed fairly easy; I’m pretty sure I didn’t screw it up.

So, now it’s displaying almost the exact same symptoms. It’s not oscillating like it was before, but it’s still dying pretty frequently, only on idle. I’d like to know if there’s anything else I can try before I take it back to the shop.

A little more information about my car:

• Replaced the motor about a year and half ago, put a few thousand miles since then. I don’t know what other parts were replaced as part of the motor, but probably not many considering what I’ve had to replace.
  • Since the motor replacement, I’ve had the following replaced: rear main seal, clutch, distributor, distributor again, and water pump
  • The odometer reads 223k miles, but I don’t know how many miles the new motor has.
  • 1990 Honda Civic LX 1.5L

Have you cleaned the throttle body?

Sometimes they’re so dirty, you should clean them on the bench

In regards to that idle air control valve and throttle body . . . is there a coolant line going to the throttle body and/or idle air control valve?

Is the idle air control valve getting power and ground