Incredibly inefficient snowblower

Hi,

I have a 20-year-old Toro Snowblower I just bought last summer. It has an electric start; even so, I need to pump it like 10 times, and then keep priming it when it’s cold, just to keep the engine running. As I’m using it, I need to keep the choke all the way on, or the engine will die.

I’m thinkin’ the carburetor - but I have no experience cleaning one out. Is this something I can repair myself?

What if you take it off and take it into a Toro repair shop to get it rebuilt Shouldn’t be too much $$.

Symptom of ethanol damage to carb since the conversion to 10% ethanol/gasoline mixture… Check on line you can get carbs for less than $50…many can not be rebuild …use fresh/stabilized gasoline in the winter and drain tank and run dry before storage.

Check to see if there is a fuel filter in the gas line, if so replace it and you can try to spray good carb cleaner in gas line after filter. Put as much in line as you can then put line back on and start and let run about o 20 seconds then shut engine off and let set for 10 minutes or so. Restart and let it run for a bit, if that does not work you will need carb cleaned.
If it did not have fuel filter you really need to put one in there and be sure to use fuel staybalizer in gas the last time you use it. You must run it for 5-10 minutes after putting it in, next winter you will be good to go.

You should be able to find a lawnmower mechanic who can clean and rebuild this carburetor for you for a reasonable price. That’s where I would start. It might be caused by Ethanol in the fuel and it might not.

Do you use fuel stabilizer? If not, it might prevent problems like this in the future. When I buy fuel for my lawn equipment, the first thing I do when I get home is add a double dose of fuel stabilizer. It seems to mitigate these types of problems.