I'm in the market for a used diesel van

Hello, all. Happy to be here. I am a musician, so please don’t hold that against me. I am in the market for a used diesel van, for touring purposes. Could anyone give me some pointers on what to look for and how much I should be looking to spend? Also, if anyone knows anything about biodiesel, any and all information would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Dodge/MB made diesel Sprinter van a while back, they were pretty expensive for what you got. Ford stopped making diesel Econolines a couple years back. The older 7.3L Powerstroke are considered superior to the 6.0L powerstrokes. The last GM diesel van came out in 2002, I don’t think Dodge ever made a diesel Ram van.

So you’re pickings are going to be pretty slim.

Musician = poor but want’s to spend money ;p
( Me, a bass playin’ weekender 1970 thru 2001 )

Why a diesel ? Anything out of warranty will cost you big bucks to fix. Anything IN warranty will cost you to puchase.

We didn’t tour per-se’ but weekending here in the four corners put on some miles. WE liked having a trailer best after all the tries at buses or vans.
Any band member could tow it to maximise scheduling and it could be parked loaded to maximise mpg of our vehicles.

“I am in the market for a used diesel van, for touring purposes.” and inexpensive to boot…
Who isn’t. There may be a used one out there that belonged to a contractor but it’s either A, too expensive or B, beat to heck. If B then the repairs on a diesel are more than you can afford.
I would look for the best buy in any kind of a van. I’m assuming it’s the 3/4 ton GMC/Chevy cargo van or Ford equivalent. If you go gas, your chances of getting a good deal go up exponentially. We aren’t in Europe and good use diesels are hard to find.