Fordodgechevy Diesel trucks

My wife and I are thinking about getting a newer truck since both of our existing veh. are paid off.

I am a Ford man, both veh. are Fords. I will admit, however, I’m still very new to the diesel genre.

I know Ford has the “Powerstroke” Diesel, Chevy has the “Duramax”, and Dodge has the “Cummins”. Honestly, we don’t really need diesel. We don’t live on a farm, we don’t have horses(yet!), and we don’t have a 5th wheel gooseneck camper yet. What I do like is that you get decent fuel mileage out of a diesel, or is that a hype? I also heard that diesels tend to run (as in long life) for a long time.

Basically, I’m just doing homework. How do these brands of truck diesels stack? Other than personal opinions please. I want to know facts, statistics, and possibly pros/cons of certain diesel truck brands.

From what I hear, Cummins seem to be a great engine. On a TV truck show, these guys took a cab and bed off a '77 Ford and put it on a frame of a '97 Dodge Cummins. A fellow veteran mechanic has a nice '98(?) Dodge and he swears by the cummins.

I’ve never been around powerstrokes enough to hear anything about them, likewise with the duramax/allison combo.

We basically want a truck, tired of borrowing trucks. My first choice is Ford of course, but if math/logic, etc. points towards Dodge or Chevy, fine. We would be fine with a Triton V8 F-250, same motor as her Expedition.

Didn’t Cummins build tractors or something? I’ve heard that name before but I don’t remember where.

Does powerstrokes have any weak points? If you maintain properly, and treat easy, do diesels reciprocate? Looking on internet, some of these fords have 250,000+ miles! One was in the 300,000. What is typical life expectancy of a diesel? Is is worth it to go ahead and start with a new diesel motor, rebuilt or crate?