I'm honkless! Please tell me if my deduction (aka guess) is right

*Disclaimer: I am by no means a mechanic (nor did I sleep at a Holiday Inn Express last night). I love cars, and I can change my own oil and tires and a few other basics, but the following is just my brain trying to be a little more mechanical. (end disclaimer).

I have an 05 Grand Am. Bought it used, hate it. And I’m a Pontiac girl, so that’s a hard to confession to make.

Anyhow, a couple weeks after I bought it, the horn started being dodgy. It would take a few pounds on the wheel before it would honk. Once it did honk, it would work for a while unless I didn’t honk for a while, then it would stop again. The number of whomps before honk increased as time went on.

Took it back to the dealer (“certified vehicle”) and they fixed it. And it stayed fixed for a while. My receipt said, “Fixed horn”. Then it started doing the same thing again after a couple months. Now it won’t honk at all.

The interesting thing is, it also won’t honk when I use the key fob to lock the car (it did work when I bought the car and after the repair). Nor will it honk when I use the delay lock by pressing the lock on the door before I close it.

I called the dealer (off warantee now) to find out what they did to fix it the first time and THEY WON’T TELL ME. So I called a few local shops and they all say it’s probably in the steering column and they don’t do that stuff. GR.

But to me, since it won’t work from the fob either, -I- think it must be the horn itself, or maybe wiring to it. I don’t know where the receiver for the fob is located, but I’m guessing it isn’t in the steering column and is somewhere between there and the horn?

So, please, tell me what you think - set me straight on this. And while you’re at it, what do you think I should plan to shell out to get this fixed?