I'm 49 years old, and I never want to buy another car again

A few things you need to know:

1. I am an incorrigible cheapskate, from my self-cut hair down to my holey underpants!

2. The one and only car I’ve ever owned is an '82 Corolla Wagon given to me by my folks when I graduated college. A fellow cheapskate named Tom Magliozzi told me that cars DON’T cost more and more to repair as they get older–the repair costs level out after a few years–and I’ve ridden that rationalization for 250,000 miles and twelve times across the country, until now when rusted chunks of the car’s body fall off with a hard stop!

I know the engine in this Corolla is legendary for it’s staying power, but the body–not so much! Didn’t help that I used to launch our canoe with this car, driving through high tides of salty Biscayne Bay! So here’s my question:

I hate spending money on expensive things like cars, and I’ve gotten awfully spoiled by this Corolla. What newer car can take me to my life expectancy–or at least my retirement age? Or should I do a body transplant on this rustbucket?

Oh, and while I’m asking for miracles: my family has built a “green home”, which is secret code for “we’re too cheap to pay the power company for electricity.” Could any of the hybrids or electric vehicles that are out there qualify as a worthy successor to my old Corolla, and also provide battery backup power to our house during a power outage?

I suggest you investigate a newer Corolla. They remain one of the most reliable vehicles on the planet.

The most direct replacement for an '82 Corolla wagon would be a Toyota Matrix or Pontiac Vibe. They are mechanically identical. Both are 5-door hatchback versions of the Corolla, and earn high ratings for both fuel economy and long-term reliability.