If a car runs off the road and ends upside down on your property can you refuse its removal?

More of a law question, however, If a car driven by someone you have no connection to is going down the road at a high rate of speed, spins out, flips, ends up upside down on your private property causing damage to your property, can you tell the police and towing company to get off your property? How does it work? The driver was out of the vehicle at this point.

Thanks.

a. I’m no lawyer
2. I don’t think so. You can ask for his insurance information, just as if he crashed into your car.

Laws may vary by state and I’m by no means a lawyer but the police likely have a say-so in a matter like this because the car was on public property when it went out of control.
If someone parked their vehicle on your property then you should be able to pretty much do what you want with it.

A Toyota owner learned a hard lesson about parking on someone else’s property when he chose to park his car on a long time friend of mine’s property after being told not to.
Toyotas are good cars but don’t hold up well against a Ruger .44 carbine… :wink:

The cop wouldn’t give me the insurance info, he said I would need to get a copy of the police report for 5 dollars. The cop wanted my drivers license, I wouldn’t give it to him because It didn’t involve my car, and what the heck does my license have to do with someone damaging my property. I was in my house when this happened.

The person that hit my property is questionable, the truck had a valid insurance policy from a fly by night company, but it was unknown if the driver was a covered driver. This is all the cop told me.

This happened when I was typing a response to a post about the bad drivers around here.

The driver didn’t get a single ticket.

The truck crushed the end of a 40 foot long 60’’ inch culvert on my property that was put in 2 years ago at a cost of 8 grand.