İ Want to Buy An El Camino But I'm Not Sure. Help?

Hi first I’m sorry if my English is bad because I’m just learning. Anyway, there’s a few things I’d like to ask you. First, I live in Turkey and I’m moving to Seattle in six months. I saved some money because it’s the muscle car that I want most. But I don’t know what to watch when I take it. I’m undecided between El Camino and 69 GTO which is better?. Give me some information. And the parts are easily found?. And my last question is, is there a law on exhaust in America? High-voice exhaust is forbidden in Turkey. Thanks to everyone for the questions already.

Neither is better. There are guys who love their old El Caminos, and guys who love their old GTOs. Both are great, both will be very old, and their reliability will be almost 100% based on their history.

Being in the U.S., and with foreign relations and policies being as volatile as they’ve been in past years, it’s impossible for me to suggest availability of parts for either of these vehicles. You’d have to research that yourself from Turkish sources.

Thanks for you answer but in turkish resources you cant find anything about muscle cars :confused:

OP is moving to Seattle, so he’ll be able to source parts here.

@the_same_mountainbike is right- once you get into classic cars, which one is better is 100% based on which one you like better.

They will all be harder to find parts for than a modern car. They will all drive worse than a modern car. They will all probably be more unreliable than a modern car. They will all be less safe than a modern car.

I would always recommend against making it your daily driver - but if you’ve got the money and can afford a weekend/summer fun car in addition to a more practical car, then go for it. Get what you like, not what we like. If I were buying a car from that era, it’d be a Porsche 356 or early 911, so obviously my tastes won’t help you very much. :wink: