I need new tires

I have a 2005 honda civic and it’s going to need all 4 new tires soon. I live in wisconsin. I am a teacher. Hence, I need decent tires, but I am not a wealthy woman. I need good, sound advice that doesn’t come from a tire-maker. Help a lady out, huh?!

Did you like or dislike the original tires? Are you looking to improve on some aspect of them, such as snow traction, price, road noise, tread life, or anything else?

You could go to the Tire Rack website, punch in your make and model, and read the reviews that people have put in for the tires that fit your car.

Also check out past issues of Consumer Reports for all season tires. They tell you how well a given tire works in ice and snow conditions, which may be important to you. We settled on BFG Traction T/As from Costco after reviewing options for wife’s Subaru. Concidentally, we tested those tires in snow, sleet and ice last Jan to and from Lake Geneva, WI, so I can say they worked well for us. I also like Costco’s single price policy, eliminating any need to figure road hazard vs not, etc. I have found the staff to be knowledgeable and helpful, and had no problems with a warranty issue with tires on my vehicle, making them a winner in my book.

Some good tires (good quality, snow performance, good wear)for that car would be the following:

-Michelin Pilot Exalto A/S
-Michelin MXV4 Plus
-Goodyear Assurance TripleTred

You may not have the same oppurtunity there as I have here (I am in St Louis) but
there is a reputable used tire store in town, and I have gotten to know the
operator over the years. You can save quite a bit that way, and you would NOT
be dealing with a commission salesman being paid to dump excess inventory on you.

Sams and Costco deal with good tires at good prices. Is one near you?

I will 2nd the Exalto and Triple Tread suggesztions. I have the Exaltos on my 99 and it handles really good in snowy conditions