I am a novice, and I need advice on maintaining my car

Hello pro’s! First, let me say I have absolutely no knowledge when it comes to car repair and maintenance. So I am hoping you guys will guide me in the right path, and of course, while saving me money, seeing that I live on a very tight budget. I bought a 2012 Toyota Camry SE ( 4 cylinder) 3 years ago at 35K mileage. I have only taken the car to the dealership where I bought it, and fortunately for me, I’ve only replaced the battery and performed regular synthetic oil change, and transmission fluid, over the 3 years. The battery and transmission fluid service was recently done on Oct, 9th, 07 - a total of $426. My drive an average of 7K mileage per year.

My question is: after taking my car in recently for another oil change, which they do every 4K miles, I was told I needed brake fluid service, install MOA OIL fortifier, 44K power enhancer, lubricate chassis, and the bill would be $596.

This comes as a shock to me, seeing that I just spent 426 dollars in Oct, and I will need to get new brakes and rotors soon as well, which they quoted me 924 dollars for.

Is this normal?

P.S: I have ran around town checking out independent shops and their quotes are only 100 to 200 dollars less, but that is because I prefer to continue using OEM parts on my car.

Quite possibly in your glove box there will something called the owners manual and also a maintenance schedule . And no you do not need original parts because most vehicle parts are made for the brand not by the brand.

Skip : oil fortifier - power enhancer - lubricate chassis ( have no idea what that means since you have unibody ) .

1 Like

The battery and transmission service have nothing to do with the brake fluid, and so it is not surprising that you would have to pay more to get the brake fluid exchanged.