How cheap would you go...?

It’s about that time (105,000mi) when I noticed it’s time to change the front shock absorbers on my 2002 s10 4cyl 5sp. I looked on the web site of the local auto parts store and it would seem I have have quite a few choices on price point when it comes to new shocks.

How cheap should I go? I could spend anywhere form $20-$150 a piece. Now keep in mind I’m a poor college student, but I also don’t want to be doing this job again next year. Is there really that much difference between the quality and performance of the different price points?

Thanks in advance.

If you’re not off-roading a 4x4 or racing…
The 20- $30 shocks are just fine.

I prefer to buy lifetime warranted shocks so that if one fails, you are out only labor. choosing a 50K warranted shock (Sears used to sell them that way) might be a cheaper alternative if you don’t think you will be keeping the car all that long.

Check out warranty; determine how long you want to keep the car, then decide.

Thanks, AutoZone has a lifetime warranty on the cheapo ones, so I guess I’ll go with those. Thanks for the input.

What makes you believe that you need new shock absorbers? Mileage is not a determining factor but performance is. If the vehicle drives well, you may not need new shocks/struts.

Fair enough. A little over a year ago I took my truck in for an oil change at my mechanic (cause it was too d*@n cold in january) and while I was talking to him he pointed out that my shocks (The drivers side more than the passengers) were leaking. Well I waited and now when I go over winter’s finest chuck holes the whole front end shimmies and bounces. If I get the front of the truck bouncing with my weight it will continue to bounce for roughly five cycles.