Honda Odyssey vs Dodge Caravan

I need to purchase a new car.

I am thinking of getting a used mini van.

Which car do you think is more reliable, less likely to need a lot of repairs and less chance of having to replace the automatic transmission?

Odyssey or Caravan?

All minivans use engines and transmissions derived from cars and have more transmission problems because they are heavier than cars, have more wind resistance and sometimes tow campers.

Having said that I had 2 Chrysler Minivans, my son had 4 and none of them had transmission problems. We do change the transmission fluid every 60000 miles ( Most people on this website recommend 30000 miles,)

I have no experience with Hondas. When I bought my first minivan I didn’t consider the Honda, Toyota or Chevy minivans because none of them would hold 4 x 8 sheets of plywood or drywall.

1 Like

Honda vans had a string of automatic transmission problems in the early to mid 2000’s. I think they have them fixed now. Chrysler, never known for its quality, is now owned by Fiat, the laughing stock of the car quality world. Need I say more?

I’d go with a Honda

1 Like

Honda’s in general have a good reputation. I am on my 4th Chrysler mini van. Had a Plymouth Voyager (1985?), got it used from the leasing company my employer used. Traded it in and got a new Dodge Caravan. Had some tranny trouble early on covered by warranty, no trouble after that. Traded it in for a new 2005 Town and Country. Just got a 2016 Dodge Caravan from Enterprise with 4,600 miles on it, very good price. I have been very happy with these vehicles which is why I keep buying them. I am selling the 05 to a co worker of my daughters and getting top $ for it because it is in very good shape. If the deal on the new one did not pop up I would have kept the 2005 for several more years.