Honda CRV timing belt

Hi;

I have a 2001 Honda Crv. It is a great car.

now it has about 105k mileage.

Honda has recommended the timing belt change for this mileage. But its cost is too much for me. beside that i drive it about 3K per year. I’m just using it to commute (I’m just a student!).

Is there any way that i can find out that I “MUST” change timing belt???

thanks for your attention.

-jeff

your timing belt is 9 years old and due for a change…it could snap any time no matter how many miles you drive. Shop around for a good price…

Your timing belt is 9 years old and is at 105K miles, right at the mileage recommendation to change out also. Timing belts can fail due to age or wear. You can’t tell the difference.

Best reason to change it is because you have an interference engine and failure can cause severe, expensive damage it the belt breaks. That is the best reason to change it now.

No need to pay dealer prices for this repair. Find a good, independent mechanic and get an estimate from him. Changing out the timing belt, water pump, etc at this point sets you up for 105K additional miles. Failing to get it done soon could cause you a far more expensive bill.

thanks for your attention… team honda gave me a quote to change timing belt and water pump and 2 other belts ( i didn’t know what was that!!) for $600. :frowning:
I heard that just timing belt and water pump must be replaced?? is that correct?? if not what are parts should be replaced??

thanks alot

to be safe anything under the timing belt cover could be changed…tensioner, pulley, etc…the major cost is labor…600 isn’t too bad from dealership.

A timing belt and water pump can be done by any competent mechanic. Shop around and see if you can do better. %600 doesn’t actually sound too bad coming from a Honda dealer. Try not to put it off much longer, as others pointed out, pay now, or pay a lot more later.