High miles volvo station wagon or VW Jetta?

I’m a new driver and mom of first grader, agonizing over which car to buy. I have a friend selling his '97 Volvo station wagon with 175K for $2500, or a '96 VW Jetta from a dealer with 108K, for $3995. I’ve done as much research as I can and asked for advice but I just don’t know what’s the best choice. I felt safer in the Volvo, but can get used to the VW. I just don’t want to be stuck with a car what will be useless in a year’s time.

I suggest the car that had the best care by the prior owner(s).  Of all the possible factors that is the most important.  The trouble is, you don't know and neither do I.   However YOU know which one feels safer to you.  That appears to be a serious concern on your part (as it should) so I suggest you go with that one. 

After you get it make sure you keep all the maintenance listed in the owner’s manual up to date. If the owner’s manual is not in the car when you get it, inquire about getting one. Your care of the car is important to reliability, life and safety. That manual is the information you need to care for your car.

They both are at an age they are becoming repair and maintenance money pits.

Unless you are a mechanic or are sleeping with one, these are two nightmare choices. Scylla and Charibdis. Two of the least reliable and most expensive to repair cars on the road. Both are overpriced by about 50%.

If you have only $4000 to spend, best choices would be a circa 2005 Ford Focus or Chevy Cobalt or Chevy Malibu. $4000 will only get you a ragged-out Honda or Toyota with very high miles.

I agree that it would be difficult to pick two worse cars in terms of their potential repair costs.

If the OP is determined to buy one of these two cars, then the one that has been given the better maintenance is the preferable one. Without documentation of maintenance, both should be avoided.