Help with stick shift

I’m new at driving a stick. I know I am not supposed to “ride the clutch”, but when I’m in first or reverse and I want the car to move very slowly I can only do it by depressing the clutch about half way through. If I don’t use the clutch the car moves too fast and if I use the brake the engine stalls. Am I doing this wrong? Any recommendations? Thanks in advance for any help.

There are some situations where you have to “slip” the clutch, and low speed maneuvering is one of them.

Time for some practice in an empty parking lot. Get going in first, then get a feel for how slow you can go without having to slip the clutch. The same for reverse.

What situation are you in when you find that you’re doing this? How often does this happen? It might be better to let the clutch in and out, getting bursts of speed and then coasting for a bit to slow back down.

I taught my sister to drive a manual by having her practice in a large parking lot. I had her get the car moving just by letting the clutch out ( no accelerator ) it took several tries. Then she would change to second the same way. In just a couple of hours she could drive around the lot and apply gas as needed.

+1 to Uncle T’s post.

It’s tolerable to do a bit of clutch slipping, but only with the engine idling; keeping off the gas pedal.
I do this on a regular basis when parallel parking.

What situation are you in when you find that you're doing this? How often does this happen? It might be better to let the clutch in and out, getting bursts of speed and then coasting for a bit to slow back down.

I only do it with the engine idling. For example I do it when I try to fit in a tight parking spot or when driving over certain speed bumps, or even in heavy traffic. Both my first and reverse feel too fast when idling.

Thanks for all the replies