HELP-Subaru XT Repairs

Hey there, first time poster here.

I registered just so I can ask these questions. I’m very new to fixing up vehicles. In fact, this 1986 Subaru XT is the first one that I’m fixing up. And what a project it will be.

It’s going to need: 5 new tires (spare included) as well as spark plugs, a battery, interior replacements, and air/heating units replaced as well.

Air/heating is where I’m getting trouble. Like I said, I’m new to this and am learning the ropes of this car repairing scheme so bear (bare?) with me.

Is it possible to throw a new battery in there from AAA and a new A.C. unit in there from modern day or does it need the stuff from it’s time? That’s the first of many questions so I’ll come back and update this thread with more of them including update pictures.

Backstory:

This is my grandpa’s Subaru and he absolutely loves it. I’m 17 and my all time dream is to fix it up and have him driving around in it again. The last time he drove it was 10 years ago to a baseball game of mine where it later wouldn’t start in the parking lot due to battery issues. Since then, it’s been up at my grandparents house (1200 feet in the mountains of Cali) covered up with mice eating at it. Kind of gross but I’m super hyped up to fix it. Back when I turned 16 they gave me $1500 to put towards a car I want but I never spent it. The same went for my brother so if we put our checks together then it would be around $3K to fix the whole car up. Probably not nearly enough which is why I’m getting a job in November and putting money towards the car.

I’ll add more to the story later when I’m not on my phone but hopefully my question(s) can be answered and I’m not posting this in the wrong section.

Have you at least put a wrench on the crank bolt and seen if the engine will rotate?