Head Gasket / Exhaust--help!

My 1995 Honda Civic just started shaking and then last night overheated. I took it to the local midas (the closest place) and they said that there was still coolant in the reservoir, so it likely has a leaky head gasket. Their estimate is $1500 with parts and labor. It has 90,000 miles on it so I’m trying to decide what to do. I’m a poor grad student and the car is old enough that I’m afraid to start throwing too much money into it.

I’m not sure that the Midas has done any pressure tests (they just noticed that coolant(?) came out of the radiator when they opened the cap).

However, I’ve had to have my exhaust replaced twice in the past 5 years (it developed a hole both times). Is it possible that the problem is a blocked catalytic converter rather than the gasket? Should I take it to another shop to be looked at? I’m at a loss as to what to do and in a panic that I may now be carless! I’d love any advice that anyone has to give. Yours, cash-strapped aspiring librarian

Get away from Midas, and don’t take the car to any other national or local chain shops, either. Find a REAL mechanic, preferably and independent with Honda experience. Use the phone book if necessary.

They’re explanation makes no sense: “There is still coolant in the reservoir, so it likely has a leaky head gasket.”

WHAT?

You’re problem might be easy and inexpensive to fix. New thermostat, perhaps, which is about $10.

Now, the shaking is not good. But you ignored it until the overheating. Why did you do that?

How badly did it overheat? Was the gauge high, or did the coolant boil over?

We need details from you, not crazy theories from Midas.

The exhaust is a separate issue, but after 15 years it’s not unusual for holes to develop in the exhaust system. Rust is the cause, not a blocked catalytic converter. One of the by-products of combustion, which happens in the engine, is water vapor. Water vapor condenses inside the exhaust system and causes rust.