Haynes repair manual vs chiltons

I like the Haynes manuals as opposed to chiltons. the Haynes assumes I am an idiot and shows me pictures. the chiltons assumes I am a mechanic and know the names of the parts. usually I don t like it when I am assumed to be an idiot, but there are exceptions to every rule. of course I am trying to make my '75 ford truck last forever because I almost understand it now and don t want to buy new tools or manuals, so I may be prejudiced. what do you guys think?

@wesw Haynes and Chilton are owned by the same publisher

If you want to be “treated” like a mechanic, you have to buy the factory service manual

It is often worthwhile to have Chilton and Haynes and more. Over the years Mitchell and Motors became the choice of independent and factory mechanics with Chilton fading to the DIY market where I guess Haynes had remained. Alldata jumped out with the digital system and Mitchell followed. Each has had their weak and strong points and it seemed worthwhile to have both systems. But it is amazing how much insight and technical information is available on forums like this one for the patient. I learn something new weekly and I am a retired shop owner and mechanic.

For many German cars the Bentley manuals are pretty good.

Pictures and diagrams are not a bad thing to have. For what it’s worth, both (especially Chiltons) has technical errors so attention should be paid to the info given. Some incorrect technical info or wiring schematic faults have caused me a fair amount of grief in the past.

ALLDATA has more depth but is not without faults and even factory service manuals are known to be wrong now and then.

Not knowing something does not make you an idiot and I think that you’re taking it wrong.