Hardened oil on dipstick

Hi,
I am looking at a 1999 dodge van and when I check the oil it seems clean, not sludgy or grainy or anything but the end of the stick has old hardened oil on about 1/4 inch. Should I run away or could it just be built up from years of use or sitting for a long time (the van sat for 2 years).

Also, when you jiggle the steering wheel back and forth I hear a knocking noise. Doesn’t happen when you are driving and making turns though… just when moving it fast side to side.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kadin

This is easy. If you are on the web asking if you should buy a vehicle than you shouldn’t . You pasted 2 red flags so keep looking.

It’s cheap and otherwise is what I’ve been looking for for a long time. Looking for advice from others that know more about cars than me. I’m not a mechanic.

Thanks for your advice!

Of course it is . Because it will need a motor overhaul soon most likely . Also it might need a new steering rack . If you really want this old van that is past it’s sell date pay a mechanic to look it over and give you an idea of what is wrong with it.

3 Likes

You are right to be vigilant and have made some intelligent observations. There are plenty of these older Chrysler Corp. minivans out there and this one may be better for a mechanic with time to spare and another vehicle that is trustworthy. Not so good for most folks, though.

I’ve never heard of that dipstick phenomenon, but it is a bad sign. Maybe look into the valve cover area with a flashlight and mirror and look for sludge or hard black deposits up there. Another bad sign.

There’s a u-joint at the firewall. Around it is a big plastic/rubber isolator. I have had to replace that part twice because they crack and no longer seal against outside air.