Grooves on pistons and head tolerance?

2005 Honda Civic VP (LX)
115k miles
1.7 D17A
Automatic

I’ve never done this before… I’m not a mechanic.

I suspected a head gasket leak being the cause of an overheat. I didn’t let it get hotter than 95% of the white range on the temp gauge but it never got to full red. (a narrow band at the top). Car ran fine the whole time except that when it got the hottest, I did smell something overheated (plastic?). In any case, I took the head off and found what appears to be a blown head gasket. The port-side piston (#1?) has more oil gunk on it. I didn’t see any ‘mayonaise’ anywhere… just charred oil. Besides the overheating, the only other clue was slight bubbling from the radiator and a slightly dirty coolant overflight reservoir interior. Oil all looked good.

I found a few areas of the head where I could slide a .0015 in / .038 mm feeler while using an expensive straightedge. In a few areas, Iwas able to PARTIALLY slide .002in/.051mm feeler but never all the way through to the other side of the straightedge. Does the head need resurfacing?

Also, the 4 pistons appear to have dents only at the sides farthest from the front of the car. The dents appear to be aligned with the valves, but I’m not sure. Is this bad? Could I have caused this by cranking it by hand clockwise a few degrees? (I might have bumped it a few degrees the wrong way) I moved it counterclockwise trying to find TDC.

Pics of the piston grooves:

Those “dents” are valve relief cuts, which are supposed to be there. Also, any time you pull the head for any reason, you have it checked and resurfaced by a professional machine shop, or you replace it. The last time I did this procedure on an engine which had overheated, I purchased a used head from a “you pull it” junkyard and had a machine shop install new valve stem seals, polish the valves and valve seats, and resurface the mating surface. I paid about $350 for the machine shop work.

1 Like