Ghost Crank

I have a 99 Chevy Tahoe. It has a remote start. I’m not a mechanic, but replacing the starter seems easy enough. So I disconnected the battery, excised the old factory starter, then replaced it with a new AC Delco starter that was smaller but bolted right up. The problem came up when I tried to reconnect the battery. The truck tries to crank up with no key activating the ignition. Completely NEW problem now. Seeing as this was not an issue before and surprisingly there were no issues with replacing the starter I assumed I have a bad new starter. Just ordered a replacement for the new starter. I still have to ask what COULD be the problem? Please help. Simple job turning complicated.

More than likely the new starter has a bad solenoid.

The solenoid is what makes the connection to the starter from the battery when the ignition switch is turned to start.

If the contacts in solenoid are connected when battery is connected the starter is going to operate.

Tester

Another possibility would be that you connected the heavy cable to the wrong heavy stud on the solenoid. That would bypass the solenoid and cause a direct contact to the starter thereby energizing the starter. On some replacement starters both heavy studs are long, on others only one is long.

3 Likes

Thanks fellas