Getting a sat car running again

Hi, I am new to car repair but have some sense of troubleshooting. Anyway, I parked a car for 6 months in a parking lot and now the battery is dead. It is getting close to the time to replace it so I got s new one. One battery post was corroded and I cut it off and replaced it but now the bracket is holding the battery in a death grip. The problem is that the bolt holding it in place is so rusted that the bolt won’t move and the bolt/screw set are now rusted so bad that they are now one piece and moving in tandem. Any suggestions apart from using a dremel or similar tool to cut the plastic bracket off. If I have to do it, how would I if I even replace the bracket? What are my options as well as any suggestions on other things to get it going would be very much appreciated.

Is it a bolt or a nut that’s stuck? Usually I see the battery hold-down is a threaded rod sticking up alongside the battery, and a nut on that rod. If you have a nut, and you have enough working room, a nut splitter tool is a simple and fairly inexpensive way to go.

Put a six point socket on one of the nuts, and tighten it until the rod snaps.

Then go buy a replacement battery hold-down.

Tester

2 Likes

Have you tried spraying it with PB Blaster or a similar penetrating oil product? It might work. You could also cut it off. I’m sure the parts can be replaced either at a salvage yard or new from the Chevy dealer. If you cut it off, just be careful on the ride home. The battery cables will help hold the battery in place.

As weird as it is to say the nut is rusted to the bolt. The nut is no longer being held in place and as it is rusted to the bolt when I move one I move the other. Essentially what I have is a nut bolt set that has turned into a rivet. And the battery bracket is what is causing the problem not the battery tray bolt.

Cut it off or use a breaker bar to twist it off.