Gas Smell and Shaking

I’ve been having a lot of problems with my 03 Subaru Outback lately as I am a rural carrier in North Dakota, the gravel and weather really take a toll on my car. I am no car expert either, I can change the oil and a flat tire, and that’s about it. That said, I have been using another car to save this one for winter, but I recently had to use it for a small blizzard we had. When switching back to my spare car, I accidentally left a light on and drained the battery. My family has one of those automatic battery rechargers and I charged it back up. When I started it up, I turned it off and it had a weird shuddering for like 2 seconds that wasn’t there before, well not as strong at least. I turned the car on and off again a few times and the shuddering was still there. When I got out, I noticed a really strong gas smell.

Last time I was at the mechanic, he said my catalytic converter was bad but that I didn’t need to replace it because the outbacks had them go bad all the time and could go years with bad ones. Could my drained battery somehow have affected something fuel related and ruined the converter, or pushed it over the edge? Completely unrelated? I started the car in a garage with the door open in cold weather (below freezing I think). Maybe the cold weather just accentuated the gas smell? What about the shaking? Any ideas? I have been getting work done on this to prepare for winter, but more things seem to keep going wrong. Thanks for any help.

Bring it into a local parts store and ask if they could check the battery and charging circuit.  Many will do this for free.  It may well find the problem, or if not find your current problem, it may find a weak point that may need to repaired now to avoid a breakdown later. 

Good Luck

It’s cold outside.

You’re starting the car (which is running rich because of the cold) and then shutting it off right away.

Stop doing that. You’re flooding the cylinders with raw gasoline, which is not good.