From Deep Dark Africa: A Desperate Plea for Help

Dear Friends. We desperately need your help. I am a doctor working in Tanzania, East Africa. We moved hear 2 years ago from Boston where I did my residency at the MGH. My car is having problems and this has become a huge headache for my wife (and 2 young children) and a huge distraction for my work. I can honestly say that people may be dying from this distraction. This car has been seen by 3 different mechanics and all 3 have completely given up on it.

Our car is a 2001 Mitsubishi Pajero (equivelant to the Montero in the US), automatic transmission. It was important form Japan, used. The car was in perfect working order when I picked it up in the Dar es Salaam port and drove it across the country to Mwanza.

Currently the car only has problems when starting. It drives beautifully. When you try to start the car in the morning you have to hold the key in the start position for several seconds. It goes ra-ra-ra-ra like a normal starter and the eventually sputters (like its only firing on a few cylinders) and starts. If we drive the car around town and stop one or even twice it usually starts the same way. Sometimes it requires 2 or 3 turns of the key. The real problems start after driving the car around even more. Then, when we stop, usually in the heat of the day, the car simply refuses to start again. The starter motor will crank but the engine won?t catch despite 20-30 turns. We have tried giving it a little gas while starting but this seems to make the problem worse. Usually we just leave the car for 1-2 hours and then, when we come back, it will start again. Obviously this is not acceptable given the places that we travel with our children.