FRAUD in the automotive industry?

It seems that every industry is full of fraudsters these days. Of course there have always been mechanics coming up with work by replacing parts that didn’t need replacement and such but it seems like the counterfeits and all that have just gotten worse and worse. I also understand a lot of warranties and service contracts are just around to take your money as well.

I then saw this here. Apparently fakes from China and such are a thing with car parts as well. https://www.cartalk.com/blogs/dear-car-talk/buyers-beware-counterfeit-parts

I work in the electronics industry and fakes and scams of all kinds are just rampant right now. Scams and other types of fraud seem to make up 80-90% of my work these days, whether directly or indirectly. There are scam tech support sites, fake parts, and you name it when it comes to fraud. Cheap chargers for laptops and phones, etc. are always the worst. I have seen a $1000 iPhone fried by a cheap eBay charger. The same applies to laptops. Then there are huge USB flash drives and memory cards that are cheap for the space they claim to have. The controller on a small card is re-programmed to show a larger amount of free space. So, you take a 16GB card and make it look like a 256GB card. The thing is they work fine at first until you exceed the actual space. So a person will buy a “256GB” card and it appears to work until you exceed 16GB. Then all bets are off and data loss may result. I bought one of these once off eBay just so I could see it for myself and made sure to test and report the seller as fraud before the time limit for doing so expired.

I was buying Gillette razor blades online and found some that seemed too cheap to be true. I thought that I should look and see if there were fakes. I looked it up and this was a huge problem as well. They had how to ID the fakes and the ones I had been looking at were textbook examples.