First Time Repairing a Car

Hi guys,

My name’s Andrew, and I’m a 22 year old student at Johns Hopkins. I’m back home for the summer, and I’m trying to fix my car in order to sell it. It is a 1992 Volvo Sedan 240. It has 189457 miles on it. I brought it to the local gas station to have it evaluated, and they told me it would cost $945 to have it ready to be on the road again. This includes:

Exhaust from Cat. back

Four Tires

Battery

Oil Change

Taillights

State Inspection

The car is in good condition, and the Blue Book value for it is somewhere in the $2300 range. I figured I could make more money by fixing the basics myself (i.e. just the battery), selling it for about $1500, and allowing the buyer to deal with the rest.

Now, here’s the issue. It would only stop before when I jumped the battery. I bought a new battery, and I installed it on Saturday. It worked fine, and I left it running. Now, however, the car will not stop at all. This leads me to think that there is another problem besides the battery. They did not discover anything at the gas station. Any idea what it could be? (I was thinking maybe something with the gas…the car has sat in my parents’ driveway for about four years without being used at all…is there a way to replace the gas that is in there or something…)

Thanks,

Andrew

Opps, I mean it will not START at all not that it will not STOP at all, haha

You really aren’t giving us enough to go on here. When you say it won’t start, does it crank but not start, does it just click but not crank, not even a click? What exactly happens?

Honestly, the price you were quoted is pretty reasonable and I’d get them to fix it, then sell it. Learn on your next car. OK, maybe do the oil change yourself, but that’s only going to save you $25 or so.