First car, will it make it xcountry?

Hey ya’ll!! Have been asking a lot of people about this around me, but then it just occurred to me: “damn! I wish I could call car talk!!” So I went to the website to see if I could still submit questions to them… and lo and behold! A forum!! So here it is. I am a new driver (in fact, not even a driver yet, road test is in a week), but am looking to get a car that will get me xcountry shortly after. I just got a new job and am relocating from Buffalo, New York to the Napa Valley in California. One of my friends offered me a 1980 Ford Fairmont, with less than 50,000 miles on it. Still driven sometimes in the summer, never been in a Buffalo winter (sits in the garage). It has no power windows, no radio, no AC, and no power steering: just a barebones beast. She’s asking $1700 for it, but I think I can get it for 1500. My parents are telling me this is idiotic and won’t make it xcountry, but it seems in good condition, and it’s from a person I trust. I was thinking I’d rather take the 90 into Washington and head south from there rather than go the southern route, especially if I get this car. Do you think it’s too old? Do you think it will make it? Any advice? My budget is 2k or less for a car, and I don’t know, it looks pretty sweet, though looks can be deceiving.

Well, nobody for sure whether or not the car will make it, but it would be risky and uncomfortable. The tires are probably old. I have no idea what has been done to the car, but all the rubber parts have deteriorated over 34 years. If you do have problems along the way, it would be hard to find the parts. Furthermore, the car probably doesn’t meet California emission standards. It has carburetor as opposed to modern fuel injection.
Save your money–travel by rail or plane–and wait until you are situated in your job to buy a car.

Oh my. A 1980 Fairmont? I wouldn’t drive it from Buffalo to Albany, let alone California.