First Car Buyer and Need Advice

I’m a college student that is going to be graduating at the end of the spring with an engineering job lined up afterwards. Therefore, I need to get a daily driver this summer to commute to work. I would prefer that it is fun to drive as well as easy to work on. I’m currently learning manual and enjoy driving manual vehicles.

I’m currently looking at 2002-2003 Subaru Impreza WRX wagons as the AWD option is nice as it snows a decent amount in the winter where I am, enjoy the look of the car, and is priced around $3k-$8k based on what I have seen on the internet. I am willing to put $3k-$5k extra in any minor repairs or service things in the months following.

Is there any other cars that you would recommend I look into or if I should avoid the above mentioned Subaru? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Those WRXs get driven HARD, I’d want a pre-purchase inspection by a Subaru shop before buying, and you’ll need a set of winter tires/wheels. At that price I’d rather get a FWD car, something like a Mazda 3.

2 Likes

You are looking to buy a 16-17 year old econobox based, high performance car that just begged to be flogged and flogged they were.
I any car calls for a pre-purchase inspection by a qualified mechanic, this one does. And even then be prepared for high maintenance costs.

2 Likes

You are starting a new job just out of college the last thing you need is something that need a lot of work ( think any old all wheel drive vehicle ) . If you miss work or have to rely on someone getting you there you could actually lose that job. 8000 plus 5000 for needed repairs . that kind of money will put you in a nice used front wheel drive economy vehicle and you can get the fun to drive type thing after you have secured future employment.

1 Like