Figuring Out Car Emissions Level

Hello Everyone,

I am a resident of Georgia who will soon be moving back to Tennessee. I have an older car that still runs great but always spits out System Too Lean and other emissions related codes. Years ago, I swapped out o2 Sensor, then Mass Flow, then the Caty, but the Check Engine Light always came back on, within a 100 miles or so of re-setting. (It now comes back on within 10 miles.)

The car gets 30+ mpg and barely loses any oil. I ended up asking within another post about an easy way to truly measure emissions but didn’t get much reply, so I thought a dedicated thread would be worth it. (FYI, in Georgia, they only pull codes at inspection stations. They never put something directly on the tail pipe. And in TN, they’ve ended inspections altogether.)

Someone has already suggested the Georgia Clean Air Force site, but again, that’s just for getting you to an inspection location that only pulls codes. Someone else has also suggested buying a personal reading device and researching to find emissions levels across various vehicles. I’m looking for something more stream-lined, like a chain that charges $50 to 100 fee then gives you a read-out. Does that just not exist?

Thanks,

=MM=

Those sites used to exist when tailpipe emissions were tested and cars had fewer sensors. There is no need anymore because a Check Engine Light tells you when the emissions are excessive.

You should be able to find a shop with a rolling road dynomometer with a tailpipe sniffer. Expect this to run $150 or more with a 1 hour minimum charge. But why do you want this? What would you do with this information?