Fact or Fiction

I’ve been a do-it-myself mechanic since my first car at age 15. I always get people coming up while I’m fixing something giving me advice. Most all of there advice creates more problems. Like WD40 in the carb to clean things out, but deteriates the rubber parts. I wont go into all the advice I’ve been given here but get to the newest piece of advice.

In cold weather turn on your lights before trying to start your car. It will increase the cold cranking amps and start your car easier without running down your battery. Fact or Fiction?

Fiction.

As the current flow is warming up the battery plates it’s also draining the battery’s juice. That’s not something you want to do.

I’m sure glad I don’t listen to people coming up offering their advice anymore. Usually a few tools end up in their pocket. I sure hope I kept a good eye on him.

I also say fiction,I can’t see why diverting some of the batterys finite engery to the lights would increase the amount avialable to the starter.

There is a proven chemical property at work in regards to the battery being able to provide more “cranking power” when the battery is at a higher temp (it probably falls off as the battery gets to hot)

What is your theory (speaking to the OP)to either support or dismiss the question you have asked?

What is your theory (speaking to the OP)to either support or dismiss the question you have asked?

There may be something to it that may make it true but without further expert knowledge I’m still open to the possibility. It could be like tightening a bolt to brake it free before loosening it.

The theory behind this age-old myth is that the chemical reaction that takes place on the battery’s plates as it discharges creates enough heat to improve cranking power beyond that lost from the discharge.