Engine overheating, fan's don't turn on unless AC is on, but still overheats even then?

I’m not an experienced mechanic but I’m trying to figure this out and have been doing hours and hours of research. The car is a 1995 Honda Accord Wagon

The main problem is the car is overheating when it runs for about 10 minutes or more. The heat also does not work and has not worked for some time.

This seems to be exacerbated by the fact that the fans are not turning on as it gets hot. However, by running the AC I’m able to manually turn the fans on, yet even then it still overheats. Maybe a little bit slower, but it gets up to the red still.

I have flushed the coolant to make sure there are no air bubbles and changed the thermostat. I switched the fan relay for the power window relay, which seemed to work, and there was no noticeable difference in the fan’s function. The fans seem to run every once in a while but it’s unpredictable and erratic.

Something to note is that I was testing things and got it to a high temperature and the fans didn’t come on until it was jostled by me closing the hood.

Also when I drained the coolant there was a lot of rust/grit/black stuff in it. I believe this has probably plugged the heater core and causing the heat not to work most of the time? Is the solution to simply replace that?

So my theories:

bad water pump?
radiator is too full of grit and not flowing fast enough? (radiator outlet hose doesn’t seem like it’s too hot, though)
fan switch could be bad?

Any other ideas? Very much appreciated!

It’s impossible to tell whether that is the solution. But I can tell you what to check to find out.

You need to check the radiator for flow and even and decent heat dissipation. In a car this old that may be one of your problems.

You need to check the water pump for flow.

You clearly need to check the cooling fan temp sensor and the fan relay. Clearly the fan should be coming on.