Electrical Drain

Ive got a 2001 Galant and the battery died. I replaced the alternator thinking that was the issue but its still reading the same on the multimeter. I took the old one and the part store tested it and they said the old one was fine. Anyone have any ideas of what I can try next to see why its draining? It is a race car so there is no radio or lights or anything like that. If you have an idea please explain in details how to check it or give me a link as I am new to repairs…usually my mechanics do it but I am trying to learn myself. Thanks for the help in advance.

If this is truly a race car and you are running it on a short track. I would get rid of the alternator all together. You could start it with a jump box and run the race with the battery. then remove and charge the batt. You will have a faster car. I have a few friends that run on a short track and none of them use an alternator, if they have more than one race a night they bring an extra batt just incase.

just my 2 cents.

It is a race car just a 4 cylinder and we race about 20 laps. The problem is I ran 4 or 5 warm up laps and the battery was dead when I went into the pits. The only other driving I did was loading it and unloading it on the trailer so I dont know if there is a drain in it somewhere else.

If the battery was dead after 4 or 5 laps either your battery is fried, or you have a connection issue for the battery, or you need a new voltage regulator or I suppose there is also the possibility of a direct short stealing all the amps that should go to the battery, wow that was not as helpful as I had hoped.