Does a speed sensing EPS system add steering weight?

(I’m new to this whole thing) So, I was reading about EPS systems, and while reading, many articles say that an speed sensing EPS system only changes the amount of power steering assist depending on the speed. Now while also reading, I was wondering, does the speed sensing EPS system add steering weight at higher speeds (basically, does it start adding resistance at higher speeds)?

It doesn’t “add” anything, but simply provides less assist, giving the driver more “road feel”.

5 Likes

I don’t know how anything would add weight, but picture yourself on a bicycle with an electric motor for assist. Pedaling up a hill and the motor kicks in. That would produce an assist. Or your BIL running along side and pushing you.

It “adds” in the sense that it increases the amount of effort required by reducing the amount of assistance.

Yes, I know it lowers the assist and makes it harder to turn, but from what other guys are saying, it doesn’t ADD artificial stiffening, it just lessens the amount of steering assist.

That is correct. If you’ve ever been driving at low speed and the engine died you know the wheel is hard to turn and that there’s no need to add resistance.

Well I was meaning more for higher speeds.

I guess it depends on what you mean by adding stiffness. If the lane departure warning is active you may feel a slight difference in the steering wheel as the “shaker” warning alerts you, but that’s on a very late model car with all the bells and whistles. Conventional electric assist steering has been around for a long time and doesn’t add any “weight”, just lessens the assist for better road feel. BTW, hydraulic power steering has been doing that for much much longer.

Yeah, most modern cars have the shaker.

Correctamundo

At higher speeds you don’t need as much help to turn the wheels so the power steering applies less boost. It doesn’t actually add resistance though.

2 Likes