Do I Have My Car Totaled?

I have been driving for 14 years and never had an accident, so once I turned 30, it all caught up with me.

On March 31, a car ran into my 2001 Honda Civic LX manual transmission on the highway. It ran up the left side of the car, but all of the damage was body work. Ended up getting a new door, drivers’ side mirror and bumper.

Not even 24 hours after getting the car back from repairs, on May 16, I was headed to work and a driver ran a red light and hit me! This time on the passenger side and in the rear panel. The estimate includes another new bumper, but also a new wheel, tail light, and hub and bearing, upper control arm and knuckle.

My car has 87,296 miles on it.

The insurance company wants to fix it, but I’ve heard I should have it totaled instead. Suggestions?

Thank you so much!

Whether it is totaled or not isn’t really your call, it’s the insurance company’s. All you can do is insist that the unibody be checked to ensure there isn’t any additional damage that wasn’t included in the estimate. The fact that the hit was hard enough to damage a hub, a control arm, and a steering knuckle leads me to believe the car may be “sprung”.

You can take the settlement check and buy another car with it instead of getting your Civic fixed, I suppose, but look carefully at the math.

You have no choice. It’s up to the insurance company. Almost the same thing happened to my 84yo mother-in-law (only her accidents were HER fault). She ran over a curb and did about $3000 in damage to her vehicle. One week later her friend drives her to pick her car up. She pulls out of the bodyshop and right through a red-light and is hit by a car causing another $5k. The police revoked her license later that day before she killed someone.