DIY question

I work as a pizza delivery driver, and am looking into a way that i can do minor repairs, and maintenance to my car to delay taking it in to shops for big ticket repairs. What kind of maintenance can i do to my 2008 Toyota Yaris in my driveway. i am fairly handy, I volunteer as a theater carpenter, any suggestions would be very welcome.

You should be able to do most everything that a 2008 Yaris needs:
Change your oil
Change your coolant every 2-3 years
Change your air filter every 25k miles
Change your spark plugs every 50k miles
Change your brake pads
You might be able to change your brake fluid every 2-3 years, but you would likely need to buy some tools that you don’t currently have to do that, so it may not be worthwhile to do that yourself. If you live in a dry climate, you can let brake fluid go significantly more than 2-3 years without a problem.

When I drove a Toyota, I even did my own alignments. Only the toe was adjustable, and I just looked at the front tires and the natural center position of the steering wheel each time I replaced the front tires, and gave one side tie rod a half turn as necessary to center the wheel and correct uneven tire wear. That car never saw a commercial shop of any kind from the day I bought it new until I sold it 17 years later with 275k miles, and it still looked and ran great.

P.S. I suspect that you may find that even with a 5-year-old Yaris, which is about the lowest cost per mile vehicle you can own, that you make little or no money delivering pizzas after you pay the maintenance and depreciation on your car.

People think only about the cost of fuel, but in fact, most people spend about 50 cents a mile to drive a small sedan. Late model SUVs run about a buck a mile. Your car might be as low as 30 cents a mile, but no less than that. Figure out how many miles a week you drive your car, multiply by 30 cents a mile, and deduct that from your after-tax income.