DIY Auto Maintenance Business Plan

I am a second year student at Harvard Business School working on a business plan. The idea relates to empowering more consumers to do their own repairs and maintenance. Tom and Ray did something similar with Hackers Haven.

We are looking for input regarding the idea, and even might be interested in meeting with people if they live near Cambridge, MA to talk through the idea. Specifically, we are looking for people who have worked in auto repair shops. If you are in the area and would like to discuss further, please let me know. Rylan Hamilton - rhamilton@mba2009.hbs.edu

About 50 years ago, we had a couple fellows who were mechanics take over a service station with the idea that they would help people do their own repairs. It didn’t work. They either wound up doing most of the work or they had people run off with their tools. This was in the midwest. This was 50 years ago and cars were much easier to repair. My guess is that today, those who want to do their own repairs will do them, and others find it more convenient to pay others to do the work.

There isn’t a lot of repair work one can do today without specialized equipment. For years, by financial necessity I did a lot of my own work. Today, I’m happy to pay someone else to maintain my vehicles.

You are asking to limit your input and consequently points of view by specifying that you want to talk to people who have worked in auto repair shops. Do not, after having doing this, underestimate the willingness of people here on Car Talk to speak up.

I, for one, bought a code reader about a year ago and can hardly wait for a trouble code to appear so I can fix the car without benefit of a professional mechanic but possibly with the help of Car Talk people and the Internet.

It didn’t work. They either wound up doing most of the work or
they had people run off with their tools.